• Listen LiveThe Drive Home With Brian O’Connell2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
    Click Here 590 AM
  • Hockey NL Names Award Recipients, Hall of Fame Inductees

    Hockey NL has released a list of winners of its annual awards, and inductees into the Hockey Hall of Fame following its annual general meeting in Gander over the weekend.

    New additions to the Hall of Fame include Ryane Clowe, Daniel Cormier, James Heale and Kevin Morrison in the player category. Bonnie Evans was inducted in the builder category. While Cecil Thomas and Robert Jackman (posthumously) were inducted into the Hall of Fame for the Athlete/Builder category.

    Brian Wakelin Executive of the Year Award: Genny Duffenais, Stephenville Minor Hockey Association

    Minor Hockey Association of the Year Award: United Towns Minor Hockey Association

    Minor Hockey Meritorious Awards:

    • Western: Joe Reid, Gros Morne Minor Hockey Association
    • TriPen: Kyle Paul, Marystown Minor Hockey Association
    • Northern: Keith Leonard, Lake Melville Xtreme Minor Hockey Association
    • Eastern: Mark Noseworthy, Avalon Minor Hockey Association
    • Central: Hubert Spurrell, Beothic Minor Hockey Association

    Ray Bowe Award of Merit: Todd Horwood, Grand Falls-Windsor

    Junior Hockey Meritorious Award: Bill Strickland, St. John’s

    C.J. McCarthy Memorial Senior Award: Clyde Williams, Deer Lake

    Female Hockey Promotion Award: Edgar Balsom, Clarenville Area Minor Hockey Association

    Joe Byrne Development Award: Glen McCarthy, Stephenville

    Ron Healey Memorial Award: Fred Slade, Clarenville

    President Award: Charlie Kearsey, St. John’s and Debbie Bouzane, Gander

    Hockey NL also announced their annual scholarship recipients:

    Liam Buckley of Goulds Minor Hockey Association and Emily O’Brien of the Bonavista Trinity Minor Hockey Association took home the Minor Hockey Scholarship for this season.

    Donovan Warren, of Arnold’s Cove, won the Jim Stirling / B.F. Lorenzetti Scholarship.

    Robin Murphy, of St. John’s, took home the Wayne Mercer Memorial Scholarship for this season.

    Garry Dove and Arnold Kelly of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, and Jack Lee of the Goulds received Gold Stick pins.

  • VOCM Cares

  • More News