• Listen Live
    Click Here 590 AM
  • Three New Faces Added to Liberal Cabinet

    There are three new faces in the Liberal cabinet and some changes to two senior ministerial duties.

    The premier’s office announced mid-afternoon that a swearing-in ceremony was taking place at 4:30.

    Natural Resources Minister Siobhan Coady will stay on in that portfolio but has been named with the additional duties of Deputy Government House Leader.

    She sheds the role of Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, which has been picked up by Carol Ann Haley, a new face in cabinet.

    Other newcomers include Labrador West MHA Graham Letto, who has been named as the Minister for Municipal Affairs and Environment. Justice Minister Andrew Parsons had been holding that portfolio on an interim basis after Eddie Joyce left the Liberal caucus.

    Virginia Waters-Pleasantville MHA Bernard Davis is the new minister of Advanced Education and Skills, a portfolio formerly held by Al Hawkins who will stay on as Minister of Education, a department he has been leading since Dale Kirby exited the Liberal fold.

  • VOCM Cares

  • More News