• Listen Live
    Click Here 590 AM
  • Top Officers Named at Awards Ceremony

    The province’s top peace and police officers were named this afternoon in an annual awards ceremony held at the Manuels Interpretation Centre.

    The awards shine a light on outstanding officers working in the community and recognizes three officers. There is a winner from each of the provincial police forces as well as a peace officer working to maintain the public peace or civil process.

    The Royal Canadian Mounted Police officer of the year is Corporal Troy Bennett, who began his career in 2000 and currently works on general duty in Happy Valley Goose Bay detachment.

    The Royal Newfoundland Constabulary recipient is 28-year veteran of the force, Sergeant Dwight Feltham of the Northeast Avalon. Feltham is known for having a strong community connection and has volunteered with groups like the Mount Pearl Show Choir.

    The Peace Officer of the Year is Brent Watkins, who has spearheaded staff protocols that increase safety for employees across the province.

    The ceremony is an initiative of Crime Stoppers Newfoundland and Labrador and highlighted nine officers in total. Nominations can come from the general public, provincial organizations or fellow officers.

  • VOCM Cares

  • Iceberg Alley

  • More News